IUP invitationals

IMG_4765

Last Saturday was our last swim meet, and therefore the last chance for the swimmers who hadn’t made it to districts yet (including me), to make the districts cuts.

07:00, the temperature was way below freezing, and the team was already on the bus heading to Indiana University of Pennsylvania. After an hour and a half long bus ride, where we played ‘heads up’ most of the time, we finally arrived at IUP. Since these meets are much longer than our usual weekly meets, all the schools had their own little area to chill and maybe even sleep in between our events.

Since there were more than 7 schools there, but only one pool and so much time to warm up, our warm-up was extremely disorganized and chaotic, but we made it.

10.15, the meet started, however, since I wasn’t swimming until event 9, and each event had about 10++ heats, I didn’t swim until 12.

The events i swam this day was 50 free, 100 backstroke, 200 relay, and 400 relay. The events I possibly could make it to districts in were th

e 50 free (my time: 31.07, districts cut: 29.2) backstroke (my time: 1.28.00, districts cut: 1.17.00)

Here at IUP I broke my personal record for both, as my times were 30.2 and 1.24.09. Unfortunately I didn’t make the districts cuts. Although I am very happy with my achievements and who much I have improved since the beginning of the season! I couldn’t have asked for a better swim season and a better team.

Even though I didn’t make it I couldn’t have been more happy for Becca and Sara G who both made it in the 100 butterfly! Congrats girls, you did it. You flew your way to districts!

IMG_4772IMG_4777

6 thoughts on “IUP invitationals

  1. Hei, var litt synd at du komm ikke til målet. Med den innsatsen du har lagt ned for meg er du der på toppen. Husk de andre har muligens brukt lengre tid på det. Når vi fakta innsatsen i tiden er det nesten utrolig. Må også husk at det er snakk om noen sekunder.
    Kjempe stolt av deg.
    Pappa

    Like

  2. Hei! Ser veldig gøy ut med svømmingen. Hvilke andre sporter er det mulig å gå på på din skole? Og hvor mange er det som går på skolen din? Lykke til videre!

    Like

    1. Tusen takk! 🙂
      De har tilbyr utrolig mange sporter, om høsten har de fotball, amerikansk fotball, tennis (for jenter) og cross country. Om vinteren: svømming, basketball og rifle team. Og om våren: friidrett, tennis (for gutter), softball (for jenter) og baseball (for gutter). Så jeg har meldt meg på friidrett til våren.
      På skolen min går det rundt 1000 elever, så i min graduating class er det litt over 200 elever.

      Like

Leave a comment