Charleston

Maria, John, Kristi, Umberto, Nicole (host cousin), Brent (Nicole’s husband) their little boy Dylan, and I drove to Charleston one day, which is a city two hours south of Myrtle Beach. I really liked Charleston because it reminded me of many European cities, because it is a very pedestrian friendly city.

IMG_5240

We arrived in Charleston at 9.15, just in time to make the ferry which took us to Fort Sumter. On this island there is a big fort from the American Civil War where hundres of slaves once worked. The area right by where we embarked the ferry, is known as ‘the Old Slave Mart’, because this is where people would by their slaves.

IMG_5247IMG_5248IMG_5258IMG_5273IMG_5275

When we were done at Fort Sumter, we went to a restaurant called sesame which had the most amazing burgers EVER! Nicole had recommended the vegan black bean burger, so I ordered it with onions, guacamole and peppers.. I know, it a very unique composition but OMG, this burger was so delicious! So S/O to sesame.

IMG_5281IMG_5289

Afterwards we went to a marked in town, where they sold all kinds of jewelry, baskets, and other accessories. We also walked to a place called Rainbow row, which is a street where all the houses are painted in bright neon colors.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetIMG_5312

 

 

3 thoughts on “Charleston

  1. Hi Oda 😊
    Just found your blog. I like it a lot. I’m from Denmark and I’ll be an exchange student in Kansas next year. Looking forward to read about your experiences. I have a blog about my exchange year too. We might inspire each other.
    Btw I actually have family in Norway

    Anne-Sofie

    Like

    1. Awe thank you so much Ann-Sofie! How exciting to hear that you are going to Kansas next year, I am sure you’ll have the time of your life – at least I did/am. My advice to you is to be open and welcoming to every new person and experience, this way you’ll have so much fin! Good luck with your year, and try to keep up with you blog, this way you can look back at what you did which I enjoy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment